Rush Hour Live Stream: Trinity Laban Big Band

WED 2 DEC 18:00

Live from the Great Hall at Blackheath Halls, Winston Rollins directs Trinity Laban Big Band in a performance of music from the swing era to modern day. With vocal solos from Rebecka Edlund and Kemani Anderson.

Watch live on our Youtube Channel

Gene Krupa Leave Us Leap
Glenn Miller Ted Heath Opus One
W.C. Handy Saint Louis Blues (as played by Glenn Miller)
Glenn Miller A String Of Pearls
Neal Hefti Lil Darlin
Sammy Nestico Strike Up the Band
Harry Warren Lullaby Of Broadway (arr: Mark Armstrong)
Featuring Rebecka Edlund, vocals
Sammy Nestico All Of Me (Count Basie Orchestra)
Buddy Rich Parthenia
Cole Porter It’s De-Lovely (arr: Mark Armstrong)
Featuring Kemani Anderson, vocals
Gordon Goodwin Count Bubba
Tom Kubis When You’re Smiling

The students of Trinity Laban’s jazz department are excited to present a mixed Big Band programme ranging from the early dance music of Glenn Miller, to Ted Heath, Gene Krupa’s Leave Us Leap, then moving on to the music of Count Basie, as well as Buddy Rich’s Parthenia.
Despite the disruption caused by the Covid-19 pandemic over the Autumn term, Trinity Laban has managed to continue weekly big band rehearsals with distancing, thanks to the space allowed at Blackheath Halls. This has made it possible to put together this programme, which will also feature two vocalists, singing classic standards rearranged into a new and modern sound!
The idea of the programme is to give the students a taste of the big bands playing the pop music of their era with tunes such as Opus One and String of Pearls, and including the cool swing of Count Basie.
We will be finishing off the gig with two great arrangements, Gordon Goodwin’s Count Bubba, an exciting shuffle featuring each section of the band, then ending with When You’re Smiling, a beautiful arrangement from Tom Kubis.
Winston Rollins

Winston Rollins director
Talfan Jenkins alto sax
Morgan Wallace alto sax
Matthew Lambert tenor sax
Dominik Kosztolanszki tenor sax
Jared Meade baritone sax
Josh Short trumpet
Freddie Abel Parish trumpet
Alex Polack trumpet
Billy Rowlatt trumpet
James Wade-Sired trombone
Marty Gionis trombone
Matt Seddon trombone
Alex Turvey bass trombone
Tom Stephenson piano
Saurabh Shivakumar guitar
Caius Williams bass
Stanley Wickham drums
Kemani Anderson vocals
Rebecka Edlund vocals

Dates and times

This event finished on 02 December 2020.

box office powered by