Lunchtime Concert: Pietro Iacopini, piano, & Carolina Cury, piano

TUE 1 MAR 13.05h

Solo piano performances from Pietro Iacopini, and Gold Medal 2021 winner, Carolina Saddi Cury.

Brahms 7 Fantasien, Op.116

I. Capriccio: Presto Energico
II. Intermezzo: Andante
III. Capriccio: Allegro passionato
IV. Intermezzo: Adagio
V. Intermezzo: Andante con grazia ed intimissimo sentimento
VI. Intermezzo: Andantino teneramente
VII. Capriccio: Allegro agitato


Bach-Brahms Chaconne in D minor for the left hand (After Bach's Partita for Solo Violin BWV 1016)

Sofia Gubaidulina Chaconne

Pietro Iacopini was born in Florence, Italy, in 2002, and started to play the piano at the age of 10, with the teacher Ileana Horculescu. After three years, he continued his piano studies at the Liceo Musicale “Dante” of Florence under Chiara Montelatici, and was admitted in 2017 to the Florence Conservatoire of Music in the piano class of Giovanna Prestia. During these years he also studied with great interest harmony and musical analysis with Leonardo Abatangelo, and from 2016 to 2018 he attended a chamber music course with his piano trio at Fiesole School of Music coached by Matteo Fossi. In 2019 he won an internal competition in the Florence Conservatoire, as a result of which he performed Mozart Piano concerto no.23 K488 with the Florentine Chamber Orchestra in the Conservatoire Hall. The following year, he performed Bach Triple Concertos BWV 1063-1064 as part of the project “Universo Bach”, the complete performance of Bach keyboard concertos realized by Florence Conservatoire in collaboration with Florentine Chamber orchestra in October 2020. He is currently living in London, studying piano performance with Sergio De Simone in Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance.

Carolina Cury is a classical and contemporary pianist, alternative and experimental singer, songwriter and improviser from Venice, Italy. She is currently studying piano performance on the Artist Diploma post-master’s course at Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance under the guidance of Deniz Galenbe. In 2021 she won the Gold Medal award for best artist in the Conservatoire. She participated in and won several competitions, such as the Crescendo International Competition 2018, held at the Carnegie Hall in New York. In 2020 she formed the electronic duo Hypereyess with sound artist Konstantinos Damianakis.

Old Royal Naval College Chapel
Admission free, no ticket required

Dates and times

This event finished on 01 March 2022.

box office powered by